Reader Questionaire

I saw this on Blu chicken ninja and thought I’d answer it too.

1. What is your favourite book?

I don’t have one in particular that’s my favorite by a large enough margin to be sure, but the top spot might belong to one of the books from the Harry Potter series or the His Dark Materials trilogy.

2. What are your goals? For the year? For your life?
For the year, to get at least one book (preferably two) published.

3. Are you a writer? If so, tell me about your work.
My first novel, Project Quintessence: Hearts of Fire, is being beta read right now. It’s a young adult sci-fi/fantasy/mecha story with some unconventional romance.

4. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I like to go to new places, but there’s not really one place in particular that I’ve always wanted to go.

5. What was the last movie you saw in the theatre and was it worthwhile?
I don’t go to the theater very often. I’m not sure what it was.

6. I’m curious, are there any books that you’ve tried to read and simply couldn’t finish? This is a no judgement zone.
As far as I can remember, only one, and that was the library’s fault as much as the books. The title was Parallel Universes or something like that and it was categorized as physics; I quit reading after it turned out to be about pseudoscience and “quantum” quackery instead.

7. Are you currently working on a new book/project right now? If it’s secret, you don’t have to tell me about it. If so, however, I hope it’s going well.
I’m working on the second Project Quintessence book, even though the first isn’t published yet.

8. If you could live in any of your favourite books, which one would you choose?

I’d be surprised if this isn’t the most common answer to this, but Harry Potter.

9. Are there any book-to-movie adaptations that you think are just incredible? That you absolutely hated?
They’re not perfect, but I think the Harry Potter movies are probably among the better book-to-movie adaptations that I’ve seen.

10. What do you look for in a book that you want to read? What’s the first thing to capture your attention?
I tend to look for interesting concepts. But obviously for almost any book the first think I notice will be either the title or the cover.

11. If you’re an author, what do you do when you first get an idea for a book?

I think about it in my head for a while before I actually write anything down. If it doesn’t stick in my head on its own, I can’t be sure it would hold my attention long enough to finish writing it.

12. How do you feel about different genres? Romance? YA? Sci-Fi? Poetry? Do you have any favorites? Any least-favourites?
I like romance as a sub-plot, not as the entire plot. I love sci-fi.

Despite some that aren’t too good being inexplicably popular, the themes that YA naturally lends itself to make it something I gravitate toward.

13. If you could meet any writer in the world, dead or alive, who would it be?
Isaac Asimov. He was my favorite for a long time and he wrote an unbelievable number of books.

14. Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

I used to read more non-fiction, and even though that’s reversed, I guess that when it comes to things that I specifically really want to read non-fiction is still more likely to be higher on my priority list.

15. Are there any characters that everyone loves that you can’t stand? Or vice versa?
I don’t think “everyone” loves her, but Tris from Divergent has fans, and I am most definitely not one of them.

16. What do you like to do besides reading/writing?
I play a lot of video games.

17. If you could be remembered for one thing, what would it be?
My novel writing.

18. What is your favourite guilty pleasure book?
The Xanth series.

19. Do you have a reading goal set for this year?
Not really. I just read what I do, without keeping track of how much it is or anything.

20. Tell me anything about yourself that I haven’t asked. Random fact. Weird human trick. Whatever.
I can roll my tongue like a taco. (Which, according to Powerpuff Girls, is a superpower comparable to freezing breath or the ability to speak every language.)

Leave a Reply

