Authors Answer 111 – Killing Off Main Characters

It’s not something I’d do lightly.

I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

Sometimes, main characters die. While reading, maybe your favourite character dies. Doesn’t feel good, does it? Do you go into mourning? Do you cry? But what if the author is killing the main character? How do they feel?

320px-Modern-ftn-pen-cursiveQuestion 111: How do you (or would you) feel when you kill a main character?

H. Anthe Davis

First, I laugh maniacally.  Second, I think of how my beta readers (and then my actual readers) will take it.  Then I laugh maniacally again, while trying to figure out how best to defend myself from irate friends/coworkers/fans.  …Seriously, I kill a lot of characters.

C E Aylett

Well, that depends on who the main character is. If you mean a protag, I don’t think I’ve ever killed one yet. A main character that isn’t a protag, yes, I have. Love killing off the villains — but that’s because they are so horrible! I…

View original post 871 more words

Leave a Reply

