Song Challenge Day 19: Obsession

“A song you’re currently obsessed with”

I thought about various short-term obsessions, but ultimately decided to go with one that’s lasted long enough I can be sure it won’t change between now and the end of the challenge. (Several of the other songs I considered are my picks for other days.)

I first heard this song about three years ago, and I am still obsessed with it. The only reason I haven’t featured it in “Awesome Music Thursday” is because I wanted to save it for a special occasion. I have been known to listen to this song on a loop. When I feel really down and need to motivate myself, I listen to this song.

The song in question is “GONG” by JAM Project, the theme from The 3rd Super Robot Wars Alpha.

It doesn’t start at the very beginning of this video by InfringementMAN, but it has the lyrics.

Or there’s this epic AMV put together by GaoGaiKIngTheGreat.

How awesome is this song? It is one of the three most powerful forces in the Super Robot Wars universe. (The other two are love and the Ideon Gun.) No, seriously: when it’s played in-game, led by Basara from Macross 7 and a recording of Minmay, it depowers the final boss, allows communication with the dead, and brings in an unexpected reinforcement.

(uploaded by SunsetKID)

 

One thought on “Song Challenge Day 19: Obsession”

Leave a Reply

