Sideburns

Another Flash! Friday entry.

Sideburns

Isaac reluctantly got up from his typewriter to see what the noise was about. “Hello, Gentle Non-Reader.”

The monkey climbed up his body and tugged at his sideburns.

“You like those? You’ve got nice ones yourself.”

Isaac sat back down and resumed typing.

“Ook?”

The Gods Themselves.”

“Ook ook eek?!”

“No, it’s not about you. And they say I have ego.”

Someone knocked on the door. Isaac answered it, wondering how he was supposed to get any writing done with so many distractions. It was the man staying next door. “What’s all this noise about?”

“It’s this animal, Mr….”

“Nagai. Do you have a pet monkey?”

“It followed me in from the balcony. Can you help me get it back out? I’ve got deadlines to meet.”

“As do I. And I’m already behind because I was stuck in traffic. If only my car could…”

“Yes?”

“Never mind.” Mr. Nagai looked at the monkey, then Isaac, and said “Nice sideburns.”

One thought on “Sideburns”

Leave a Reply

