30 Day Anime Challenge Day 30: Never Ending

“An anime you wish never ended and continued on”

Not too long ago, it was announced that Naruto is ending soon; that’s not my answer, it’s just a good reminder that even the longest series eventually end. Of course, some series are better suited to have indefinite lengths than others.

So I’m going to split my answer here.

Series that could have been any length: Cowboy Bebop. Most episodes were stand-alone anyway. And even if someone wanted to revive it after it ended, the way the series ended doesn’t have to be a barrier; there’s already a Cowboy Bebop movie that was made after the series but set before the last few episodes.

Series that ended with obvious loose ends or sequel hooks: considering the way that it did end, The Big O. The ending it did get was even more confusing than the TV ending for Evangelion, and it never got continued or remade in any form.

Speaking of remakes, I still haven’t seen it yet (waiting for the official subtitle release next year), but I hear Shin Mazinger Z Impact ends with one of the biggest unresolved cliffhangers in anime, setting up for what presumably would have been a new version of Great Mazinger that was never made.

9 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge Day 30: Never Ending”

  1. Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, and you’ll likely see me drop by again during November.

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Like

  2. Cowboy Bebop is one anime that I’ve been meaning to watch, but never did. Strange too, because I’ve read the manga.

    With 30 days now done and over, how do you feel about the challenge? I’m surprised by how fast it went, but it was fun doing this with you. 🙂

    Will you be doing another challenge after this?

    Like

    1. It was fun, and it does seem like it’s over faster than I thought.

      I’ve thought about several other possible challenges, actually:
      1. The same questions (except probably replacing “fighter” and “mech” with “action” and “comedy”) but with western cartoons
      2. A video game challenge that I’d make up most of myself
      3. The 30 day book challenge I saw somewhere

      But even if I decide between them I’m not ready to say when I’d start.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cowboy Bebop? No. I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite. I read it because of Samurai Champloo and thought it was fun, but no it’s definitely not one of my favourites.

        Like

Leave a Reply

