Rescue

Another story written for a challenge at The Daily Post. Link at the end.

Rescue

              When I heard that a dragon had been seen with a young damsel, of course I set off to slay the beast and rescue her. The journey to the dragon’s lair was quite uneventful, but the shock of its location more than made up for it. Dragons are not normally known for inhabiting human-made structures other than wizards’ towers, but this one lived in a farmhouse. I can only imagine that it had gobbled up the farmer.

              The beast was so frightening that it didn’t even need to keep the damsel tied up. But of course I, a brave knight, am never frightened. I raised my lance, and that was when the maiden noticed me. She fell instantly in love, but underestimated my strength. “Don’t go near Mr. Snuggles!” She was so certain that the dragon would crush me to death, and indeed it wrapped its arms around me in such an attempt, but I was stronger than it. I lowered my lance straight through it’s skull. I never would have thought I could slay a dragon in one blow.

              The damsel backed away in awe of my might. “Get out of here!’

              “There is nothing fear, fair maiden. The beast is dead!”

              “You killed him?! You…you!” She probably never expected to have her freedom again.

              “Come now, fair maiden, give your rescuer a kiss.”

              “I might, if one showed up.” She knelt near the monster and wept with joy.

              “But fair maiden-”

              “Please stop calling me that!” She was dying for me to know her name.

              “Then what shall I call you?”

              “Justleev Yukilla.”

              “As you wish, Justleev.”

              “I’m staying here.”

              “What?”

              “This is my home.”

              “And a lovely home it is, aside from the dead dragon.”

              “And whose fault is that?”

              “I don’t know? How did it get here?”

              Justleev screamed. The memory of the dragon’s arrival must have been too frightening.

              Just as I was about to comfort her, a messenger arrived and I was forced to leave. It is a painful thing, for a knight to leave the presence of a rescued maiden before she has shown her gratitude, but we must all make sacrifices for honor and duty. And it seems the young maiden’s troubles continued after I left; when I passed by a year later, there a tombstone next to the house that said “Here lies a murdered pet.”

The theme was unreliable narrator.

3 thoughts on “Rescue”

Leave a Reply

